Join a Community of First Responder and Emergency Management Professionals

COVID-19 Outbreak Update: Last Updated Wednesday 25 March 2020, 1.00pm

Following the latest government announcement regarding COVID-19 and restricted event gatherings, we have made the difficult decision to postpone the 2020 Australian & New Zealand Disaster & Emergency Management Conference.

Please know that we are working hard with all stakeholders, venues, partners, speakers and attendees to confirm a new conference date to be held later this year.

All bookings for exhibitors, sponsors and attendees will automatically transfer to the new dates.

As a valuable contributor to the event, we are hopeful that you will be both interested and available to remain involved in the conference on the rescheduled date, which will be announced in the coming weeks.

Our team will continue to keep you informed at every step and we thank you for your understanding and patience during this challenging time.

We will be in touch as soon as we have new date confirmations for you.

The 2020 Australian & New Zealand Disaster & Emergency Management Conference is a platform to connect and share insight on planning, operations and strategy in your sector of emergency management and community safety.

Learn about the latest research, technology, policies and practical experiences in disaster and emergency management
Develop relationships with fellow emergency service professionals across state and industry borders
Discover emerging high-tech technologies, capabilities and products
Identify new learnings from individual and collaborative case studies
Connect and engage with workers across various disaster and emergency sectors from air, sea and land



How ready were we as a Nation for COVID-19? – Professor Len Notaras, Executive Director, National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre

Leadership in Times of Crisis – Deputy Commissioner Gollschewski, QLD Police

Leading multi-agency approaches – Senator Jim Molan

The 2019/20 NSW Bushfire Emergency: Lessons learned from a Leadership, Communication and Community Engagement perspective – Deputy Commissioner Rob RogersNSW Rural Fire Service

Integration of rural and suburban units into a single agency – Mr Rhys Jones, CEO, FENZ

The Role of Media – Ms Sascha Rundle, Manager, ABC Emergency Broadcasting

Let’s talk about you: Mental Health for Frontline and Emergency Workers – Ms Nicole Sadler, Head, Policy and Practice, Phoenix Australia


Sustainable Emergency Volunteering: Attracting and Retain Youth Volunteers – Dr Blyth McLennan, RMIT University


Reflection on 2019/20 Black Summer: What does this mean moving forward?

Deputy Commissioner Rob Rogers, NSW Rural Fire Service

Major General Jake Ellwood, Australian Defence Force


Mr David Foot, Deputy Incident Controller, Emergency Coordination Centre, ACT Emergency Services Agency

Commissioner Andrew Crisp, Emergency Management Victoria

If you’re still considering becoming a Presenter alongside such an honourable five-star guest list, you can still submit your Presenter Application.

Applications to become a Presenter SUBMIT HERE

NEW: Now Featuring Search & Rescue Stream in 2020 Program

Conference Committee

Mr Christopher Austin, Director, CTS Consultants [Conference Co-Chair]
Ms Kate Fitzgerald
, Executive Director Police and Community Safety Department of Justice and Community Safety Victoria Fitzgerald (Conference Co-Chair)

Mr Cameron Anderson, Deputy Manager Emergency Operations, Dept. of Health & Human Services (VIC)
Dr John Bates, Research Director, Bushfire and Natural Hazards CRC (VIC)
Ms Quinn Cramer, Women in Firefighting Australasia and QFES (QLD)
Mr Des Hosie, National Operations Advisor at Fire and Emergency New Zealand (NZ)
Cr Steve Jenkins, National President, AIES & Councillor, Bellingen Shire Council
Mr Karl Sullivan, Head of Risk and Operations, Insurance Council of Australia (NSW)
Mr Matt Dorfstaetter, Director (IDRiM Board), International Society for Integrated Disaster Risk Management
Mr Martin Boyle, Projects, Planning & Risk Manager, Australian Antarctic Division (TAS)

Join Leaders & Decision Makers From:

Fire & Emergency Services
Surf Lifesaving Australia
Australian Red Cross
St. John Ambulance
St Vincent’s Hospital
Australian Police Force
State Emergency Services



Increase Your Knowledge Of:

Leadership: Preparing for, and shaping the future
Communication: Getting the right messages to the right people, who understand what to do
Community Engagement: Embracing the knowledge and untapped potential

Program Features

Keynote Speakers


Panel Discussions

Oral Presentations

Exhibitor and Sponsor Displays

Networking Function

Poster Presentations

Table Top Discussions

Who Should Attend?


Police Officers

Ambulance Workers

SES Workers

Defence Force Workers

Emergency Service Managers

Government Representatives


NGO Workers

Our Conference Experience Commitment

We are committed to providing you with an opportunity to learn about the latest research, technology, policies and experiences in disaster and emergency management.

This is why we’re sourcing some of the most influential leaders to discuss and explore the latest ideas, concepts and developments in disaster and emergency management. This is a platform for you to explore new ideas, connect with fellow experts across sector boarders and learn the latest industry developments and technological advancements.

To further our commitment, we will provide you with access to all of the conference resources, research papers, presentations and highly valuable audio recordings, enabling you to continue growing your knowledge long after you leave the conference.









Keep Me Informed