NSW SES Young Volunteers of the Year 2014

NSW SES Queanbeyan volunteer Brent Hunter and NSW SES Armidale-Dumaresq volunteer Shirley HeapSES lo resw
were this evening honoured as the inaugural NSW State Emergency Service Young Volunteers of the Year in a ceremony at NSW Parliament House.

In presenting the awards, Minister for Police and Emergency Services Stuart Ayres, commended the pair for their outstanding achievements.

“I congratulate Brent and Shirley for their dedication and commitment to providing an invaluable community service and encourage other young people to consider joining the NSW SES to make a difference in their communities,” Mr Ayres said.

“The training and experience the NSW SES provides means that young people like Shirley and Brent can take their enthusiasm for helping the community and turn it into a professional career.

“Young people have a great deal they can offer their communities and it is terrific to see the NSW SES providing the opportunity for young people to contribute.Shirley lo res

“The NSW Government is proud to support the NSW SES in its endeavours to attract and retain young volunteers and this award highlights the
success the Service has had over the years in achieving that goal,” Mr Ayres added.

Brent Hunter joined the NSW SES Queanbeyan Unit in the Southern Highlands Region, with the goal of one day joining the NSW Police Force.

Since joining the Queanbeyan Unit, Brent has undertaken his training with great passion and proved himself as a valuable asset by becoming Team Leader. Member for Monaro John Barilaro MP has praised Brent for his hard work in the local Queanbeyan area.

“Having been involved in Out of Area operations and having helped coordinate the Unit’s 50 year celebrations, Brent is a true leader in our community,” Mr Barilaro said.

Having joined the Armidale-Dumaresq Unit in the Namoi Region just over a year ago, Shirley Heap has accomplished a great deal with the NSW SES completing several training courses that have boosted her skills in responding to emergencies.

Image Credits: NSW SES – Queanbeyan Unit and NSW SES – Namoi Region