Flooded Victorian communities to receive disaster assistance

Joint Media Release

Attorney-General Minister for Emergency Management Special Minister of State Minister for the Public Service and Integrity The Hon Mark Dreyfus QC MP

Victorian Minister for Police and Emergency Services The Hon Kim Wells MP

29 June 2013

Attorney-General for Australia Minister for Emergency Management The Hon Mark Dreyfus QC MP




Attorney-General and Minister for Emergency Management Mark Dreyfus QC and Victorian Minister for Police and Emergency Services Kim Wells today announced disaster assistance to help Victorian communities affected by the June 2013 flood event.

The Shires of Bass Coast, Colac Otway, East Gippsland, Mornington Peninsula, South Gippsland, Surf Coast Wellington and Latrobe City Council will receive disaster assistance funding under the jointly funded Australian and Victorian Government Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements.

“This disaster assistance includes a number of arrangements to help with the cost of storm relief and recovery,” Mr Dreyfus said.

“The assistance will help communities and local Councils to repair damage caused by the severe weather, and ease some of the associated financial burden.”

Assistance includes support for local and State Government Agencies to undertake clean-up operations and restore essential infrastructure, such as local roads, that were damaged by flooding.

“It is clear that severe weather has taken a toll on local infrastructure and essential assets in a number of LGAs. This assistance will go some way to help Councils repair these assets,” Mr Wells said.

“People who have suffered personal hardship and distress as a result of this event should contact the Victorian Department of Human Services to find out about assistance that may be available.”

“The Australian and Victorian Governments are committed to working together through the recovery process to ensure that disaster affected communities can quickly recover,” Mr Dreyfus said.

People seeking emergency support following this event should contact their local Council or the Victorian Emergency Recovery Information Line on 1300 799 232. More information can also be found at www.dhs.vic.gov.au/emergency

Information regarding the range of assistance that is available in Victoria for this event can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au.

Media contacts:

Annie Williams 0428 040 522 (Dreyfus)

Emily Broadbent 0400 390 008 (Wells)

For the Official Website click here